R.L. SAUNDERS

writer attempting real life in the middle of everybody else's vacation

mmmkay, now what?

on February 10, 2012

I did not hire a little old man to sign for me. That's really what my hands look like.

Well, that’s that. I signed my letter of agreement with the Jennifer DeChiara Literary Agency this week and mailed it off. Linda Epstein is my Agent Extraordinaire.

Now what? I’m glad you asked. To completely oversimplify (for the purpose of complete oversimplification), I write the next manuscript while Linda sells the first one. Then I send her chocolate booze. Is there a chance it won’t sell? Yeah, but that’s not part of the completely oversimplified version of things.

I’m not going to lie. The publishing industry feels big. It overwhelms me when I think about how many writers are all trying to do the same thing. And some of them are just so savvy, you know?

If I’m not careful, I start to feel like book deals are really only for brilliant, pretty people who are completely comfortable with Big Things. And in my debilitating daydreams, these people all look like Zooey Deschanel. They have awesome, messy-on-purpose hair, and dweeby glasses that are only cute because they’re on faces so beautiful. And these Big people all live in New York, the city.

None of this is true, necessarily. It’s just what happens in my head if I stay on twitter too long.

For the record, my hair has looked like that every morning since I was 8.

I’ve never even been to New York. Luckily, that was not one of the questions on the exam I had to take to get an agent. Just kidding, there’s no test. You just have be a good writer.

Good and lucky.

Mostly lucky.

Also for the record, I want these glasses. And lips.

You know how some kids want to grow up and run away to bigger, fancier places? I wasn’t one of them. My life is anti-Big Things. I live on a small island, and I moved here from Auburn, Michigan. No, you’ve never heard of it because there are more people per apartment building in NYC than there are in all of Auburn, Michigan.

And the thing is, I sort of love that about Auburn (and about small places, in general). Sure, I could do without the lack of diversity, the apparent one-Catholic-church-per-square-mile rule, and way too many people with graduate degrees saying “seen” when they mean “saw.” But still, I like small. And I probably always will, although I do want to go to NYC, on a two-way ticket. Even if I never sell a book in my whole life.

13 responses to “mmmkay, now what?

  1. Maureen says:

    My fingers are crossed for you; best of luck!
    Maureen Bramlage

  2. Seems I have more confidence in your writing than you do, Rhonda, but that’s because I’m more objective about it than you. Just remember that I picked your manuscript out of hundreds and hundreds of queries. Why would I do that? Well, um, because it’s good.

    Also, there’s always Chocolate Booze!

  3. Kathleen Zavala says:

    For the record I love my Buddy Holly glasses ….I don’t need Gucci, Prada…and so on.Your hands are beautiful they write the words that come from the heart. That is why I Love You and our bond will stand the test of time.

  4. dooda day says:

    Hummmm….I didn’t know you were one of the minority 10 per cent of the population! Lefty’s rule, so that means you Rhonda. Ahhh….when do I get to be on the inside skivvy and have access to peruse your manuscript? I am so happy for you, I had to shed a tear or two when yer Mama called with your good news! Hugs to all …DAM

  5. Bonnie says:

    Can’t wait to buy the book and have the author sign it for me! 😉

  6. Lisa says:

    I love small too… good luck and keep us updated!

  7. Chris Ruff ( Nadolski as you knew me) says:

    Oh Gosh Rhonda, so Cool. Your Mom and I have been friends for years and now I know an author. I will buy that book and I will bet I have another friend that will do the same………. Good Luck to you, you are so talented and a wonderful singer also…. To think I have pictures of you and my Son Greg, sitting on the couch together……

  8. pat says:

    miss you from the blue paper and found you here by way of Kimberly’s blog. Good Luck!!!

Leave a Reply

