R.L. SAUNDERS

writer attempting real life in the middle of everybody else's vacation

As not to leave you hanging

on December 14, 2013

For those of you who follow: I won the lottery. BRCA negative.

I feel twenty years of wonder and worry physically streaming from my body, out my eyes, mostly. I also feel intense guilt because the only other woman in my family who stood to inherit the mutation is now alone in this in a new way, right before the first of her surgeries.

To give you an idea of what sort of human being she is, she spent her childhood watching her mom fight to survive, over and over. Then, after losing her mom, aware of her own odds, she became a Hospice nurse to help other families through similar experiences. I can’t think of any way to describe her selflessness that doesn’t feel like an incredible understatement. So please just send positive vibes her way.

And thank you, medical science. Keep on it.

13 responses to “As not to leave you hanging

  1. Awesome Rhonda . . . so happy and relieved for you. Let Tiff know we’re thinking of her and wish her the best.

  2. Wonderful news. Thanks for letting us know — and looking forward to meeting you in person soon!

  3. I agree. Wonderful news. And my best to your relative who is undergoing surgery.

  4. Darlene says:

    I am so happy for you and your family Rhonda. Sending positive vibes to your courageous relative. xo

    • R.L. Saunders says:

      Thank you, Darlene. Looks like things are going well up north. Even though I didn’t see you often, it’s just different knowing you’re not on the island somewhere!

  5. Emily says:

    Yes! Science is the best! It will work in your relative’s favor too, I sincerely sincerely hope. Genetics are awful sometimes, but knowing really is half the battle in so many cases. A few years ago, my husband got colon cancer in the EXACT same spot his aunt got it 15 years prior. He didn’t even think to get screened though, because there was no discussion about the genetic history in their family. Thank goodness we live now, you know? Cancer can be beaten today, and in so many different ways. (Have you read The Emporor of All Maladies? It’s a fascinating “biography” on cancer.)

    • R.L. Saunders says:

      Yeah, I’ve gotten some negative feedback (privately) about my “ode” to medical science. As though I was dismissing all other ways to heal. I heard (this time and previously) about how medical science is one big scam. All of it. And I get where those people are coming from, I DO. But I don’t think having a nice set of chakras is a cure-all any more than I believe a happy result on a genetic test means I don’t have to live healthily in all the ways I can. Can you remember how I got on this rant? I can’t….anyway. Thanks for listening.

      I haven’t read that but I feel like I’ve heard of it. Maybe even from you some time ago? Not sure.

      Thanks, Emily!

  6. Candace Edsall says:

    What a relief for you and your family!!!!!…Praying that all goes well with your cousin.

    • R.L. Saunders says:

      Thanks, Candy! Sorry–been away from the real computer for a while and replying from my phone is always an ordeal for some reason. Happy Holidays!

  7. quin3736@comcast.net says:

    Happy for you. Sending prayers and positive thoughts to the other woman.

Leave a Reply

